Swisscom

HR Strategy

‘Next Level HR Recruiting and Development’: Realignment of recruitment and personnel development at Swisscom AG

Initial situation:

Swisscom is the leading telecommunications company in Switzerland, with around 6.4 million mobile communications customers, 1 million Swisscom TV customers and 1.9 million (retail) broadband connections. In 2013, 20,108 employees generated sales of CHF 11,434 billion. Swisscom is active throughout Switzerland in all services and products for mobile, grid-connected and IP-based speech and data communication. The company is also involved in IT infrastructure outsourcing and in the management of communication infrastructures.

In the course of 2012, in preparation for the integration of its B2B business, the Swisscom HR organisation was reorganised from a specifically departmental approach – to support individual companies within the Group (Swisscom Schweiz, Swisscom ITS etc.) – to a centralisation of its competence centres into a Group-wide function. Through the former, locally organised organisation, there were many different approaches, tools and processes at Swisscom in the various HR fields.

At the same time, Swisscom extended its existing guiding principle – its promise to customers to “act as their trustworthy companion in the digital world” – by carrying this into the outside world and extending it by defining requirements for behaviour within the Group.

As part of the Next Level HR initiative, the processes and tools in recruiting and development were to be realigned, harmonised and adjusted to the Group positioning under the guidance of Promerit AG.

Download
Swisscom Factsheet

Objectives:

Recruiting

  • Creation of a unique and positive employment application experience
  • Taking diverse target groups, with very different quantitative requirements, availabilities and preferences, into account
  • A focused drive to access the target groups critical for Swisscom by deploying the most up-to-date customer-acquisition approaches

Development

  • Minimising risk through optimal assignment of  staff to key positions and functions
  • Consistent identification and validation of employees with high potential
  • Focused and continuous development of employees with high potential
  • Firm employer commitment to succession planning

“We are not satisfied with mediocrity in recruiting; we want to be leaders in both recruiting and personnel marketing. It is especially important for us that candidates experience our recruiting process as something professional and positive. Promerit’s consultants provide a partner who responds to this demand and constantly challenges it. We have developed and realised ideas together that are both innovative and effective.” (Alexander Senn, Head of Recruiting and Employability)

Approach and Services of Promerit AG:

The objectives were pursued in three dovetailed areas of activity:

Recruiting

The preferences, communication behaviour, strengths and weaknesses of Swisscom were ascertained in a target-group analysis. On this basis, example target group profiles and selling stories were developed for two pilot target groups, and the channel mix was established. Then the acquisition processes and tools, the roles and responsibilities and a set of management instruments were conceived at a comprehensive level and implemented as a prototype. In the process, classic project management methodology was combined with human-centered design approaches to create ‘experience chains’ for candidates.

Development

Within the personnel development programme, the methodology for managing potential and succession planning (identification and validation of employees with high potential) was newly conceived.  Besides the procedure and organisation of the development programme, a system of key figures was developed as well as a methodology for deriving and following up development measures. Its realisation was ensured with Promerit guiding Swisscom in carrying out its first succession-planning stages.
To enable the new practice to be benchmarked effectively, a round-table discussion was set up with selected best-practice companies to share their experience of innovative and successful approaches

Diagnosis

Comprehensive new high-potential indicators were developed to function as a link between recruiting and development. From these, further demands were derived for managing potential, succession planning and recruiting; processes and tools were developed for personnel selection and the recruiters were trained in their application.

Client benefit:

  • Provision of a consistent candidate and employee experience through integrating internal and external recruiting, potential management and succession planning processes
  • Group-wide quality standards for the identification and development of employees with high potential to raise the performance of the whole organisation
  • Optimal assignation of employees to key positions through early recognition of vacancy risks and ensuring suitable successors both from within and outside the company
  • Increasing the attractiveness of the company as an employer through clear, consistent and fair allocation of positions and targeted development measures

“With our approaches to strategic succession planning and talent management we are able to ensure the ideal occupation of key positions and retain our freedom of action in critical situations. Comparing ourselves with other companies in a benchmarking activity has shown us that we are in tune with the times. Professionally, Promerit is first choice for the development and shaping of these issues. And on top of all that, our work together was a pleasure.” (Boris Billing, Head of HR Group Development at Swisscom)

other cases

Swisscom

HR Organisation, HR Strategie

„Next Level HR Recruiting & Development“: Neuausrichtung der Personalbeschaffung und Personalentwicklung bei der Swisscom AG

Ausgangssituation:

Mit rund 6,4 Millionen Mobilfunkkunden, 1 Million Swisscom TV-Kunden und 1,9 Millionen Breitband-Anschlüssen (Retail) ist Swisscom das führende Telekom-Unternehmen in der Schweiz. 20.108 Mitarbeiter erarbeiteten im Jahr 2013 einen Umsatz von CHF 11,434 Milliarden. Swisscom ist in der gesamten Schweiz präsent mit allen Dienstleistungen und Produkten für die mobile, netzgebundene und IP-basierte Sprach- und Datenkommunikation. Zusätzlich aktiv ist Swisscom im IT-Infrastruktur-Outsourcing und im Management von Kommunikationsinfrastrukturen.

Im Laufe des Jahres 2012 wurde die HR Organisation der Swisscom umgestellt – von einem bereichsspezifischen Ansatz zur Unterstützung einzelner Unternehmen des Konzerns (Swisscom Schweiz, Swisscom ITS etc.) auf eine Zentralisierung der Kompetenzcenter in einer Group-Funktion. Dies geschah auch vorbereitend auf die Integration des B2B-Geschäfts. Durch die vorherige dezentrale Organisation existierten in der Swisscom vielfältige Ansätze, Instrumente und Prozesse in den verschiedenen HR-Themen.

Daneben hatte die Swisscom ihr bestehendes Leitbild um das Kundenversprechen „als vertrauensvoller Begleiter in der digitalen Welt aufzutreten“ erweitert. Um dies nach außen zu transportieren, hat man darauf aufbauend Anforderungen für das Verhalten im Unternehmen definiert.

Im Rahmen der Initiative Next Level HR sollten die Prozesse und Instrumente im Recruiting und Development unter Begleitung der Promerit AG neu ausgerichtet, harmonisiert und auf die Positionierung angepasst werden.

Download
Swisscom Factsheet

Ziele des Projekts:

Recruiting

  • Schaffung eines einzigartigen und positiven Bewerbererlebnisses
  • Berücksichtigung diverser Zielgruppen mit sehr unterschiedlichen quantitativen Bedarfen, Verfügbarkeiten und Präferenzen
  • Zielgerichtete Erschließung der für Swisscom kritischen Zielgruppen unter Einsatz modernster Gewinnungsansätze

Development

  • Risikominimierung durch optimale Besetzung von Schlüsselpositionen und -funktionen
  • Konsequente Identifikation und Validierung von Potenzialträgern
  • Fokussierte und durchgängige Entwicklung von Potenzialträgern
  • Verbindlichkeit in der Nachfolgeplanung als Arbeitgeberversprechen

„Wir geben uns im Recruiting nicht mit Mittelmaß zufrieden, sondern wollen im Thema Recruiting sowie Personalmarketing führend sein. Besonders wichtig ist uns, dass Kandidaten unseren Rekrutierungsprozess als professionell und positiv erleben. In den Beratern von Promerit habe ich dabei einen Partner, der diesen Anspruch mitgeht und immer wieder challenged. Gemeinsam haben wir Ideen entwickelt und umgesetzt, die gleichermaßen innovativ wie auch wirksam sind.“ (Alexander Senn, Head of Recruiting & Employability)

Vorgehensweise und Leistungen der Promerit AG:

Die Ziele wurden in drei verzahnten Arbeitssträngen verfolgt:

Recruiting

In einer Zielgruppenanalyse wurden Präferenzen, Kommunikationsverhalten sowie Stärken und Schwächen der Swisscom ermittelt. Darauf aufbauend wurden exemplarisch für zwei Pilotzielgruppen Profile und Selling Stories entwickelt sowie der Kanalmix festgelegt. Übergreifend wurden die Beschaffungsprozesse und Instrumente, die Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten sowie ein Steuerungsinstrumentarium konzipiert und als Prototyp umgesetzt. Dabei wurde die klassische Projektmethodik mit Human Centered Design-Ansätzen verknüpft, um „Erlebnisketten“ für Kandidaten zu schaffen.

Development

In der Personalentwicklung wurde die Systematik des Potenzialmanagements und der Nachfolgeplanung (Identifikation und Validierung von Potenzialträgern) neu konzipiert.  Neben Ablauf und Organisation wurde ein Kennzahlensystem entwickelt sowie eine Systematik zur Ableitung und Nachverfolgung von Entwicklungsmaßnahmen. Die Umsetzung wurde gewährleistet, indem Promerit die Swisscom bei der Durchführung der ersten Nachfolgeplanungsrunden begleitete. Um die Benchmark-Fähigkeit der neuen Practice sicherzustellen, wurde mit ausgewählten Best-Practice Unternehmen ein Roundtable veranstaltet, um innovative und erfolgreiche Ansätze auszutauschen.

Diagnostik

Übergreifend und als Bindeglied zwischen Recruiting und Development wurden neue Potenzialindikatoren entwickelt. Hieraus wurden weitergehende Anforderungen für Potenzialmanagement, Nachfolgeplanung und Recruiting abgeleitet, Prozesse und Instrumente für die Personalauswahl entwickelt und die Recruiter in deren Anwendung geschult.

Kundennutzen:

  • Integration von internem und externem Recruiting, Potenzialmanagement und Nachfolgeplanung für ein durchgängiges Kandidaten-/Mitarbeitererlebnis
  • Konzernweite Qualitätsstandards für die Identifikation und Entwicklung von Potenzialträgern zur Steigerung der Leistungsfähigkeit der Organisation
  • Optimale Besetzung von Schlüsselpositionen durch frühzeitiges Erkennen von Vakanzrisiken und Sicherstellung einer geeigneten Nachfolge sowohl von intern als auch von extern
  • Steigerung der Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber durch transparente, konsequente und faire Besetzungen sowie zielgerichtete Entwicklungsmaßnahmen

„Mit unseren Ansätzen für strategische Nachfolgeplanung und Talent Management können wir die optimale Besetzung von Schlüsselpositionen sicherstellen und behalten unsere Handlungsfreiheit in kritischen Situationen. Der Vergleich im Benchmark mit anderen Unternehmen zeigt uns, dass wir mit unseren innovativen Ansätzen am Puls der Zeit sind. Um diese Themen zu entwickeln und zu gestalten, ist Promerit fachlich die erste Wahl. Und Freude bereitet die Zusammenarbeit obendrein.“ (Boris Billing, Head of HR Group Development bei der Swisscom)

Weitere Cases