Sumitomo Electric Bordnetze GmbH

HR Strategy

HR as a strategic partner for the realization of the corporate strategy

  • If over 24.000 employees worldwide have to be aligned with a new, ambitious corporate strategy, whose task is this?
  • If an organization searches for a common base after several fusions and takeovers, who will ensure the development of its own identity?
  • If leadership principles and values have not met commitment yet, who makes sure that actions will follow?
  • If you are not yet well-known as an employer, who takes care that excellent candidates can still be found?

The managers of a big automotive supplier in Germany have asked themselves these questions. The result is a straight confession to its HR management

Download
Sumitomo Factsheet

Initial situation:

Sumitomo Electric Bordnetze GmbH (SEBN) is an automotive supplier that concentrates on the development and production of wire harnesses and electronic components for vehicles. Founded as Joint Venture of Siemens and Volkswagen and extended in the following years by several purchases, it was taken over in 2006 by the Japanese conglomerate Sumitomo. At present time more than 24.000 employees work for SEBN at 23 sites in 14 countries, about 400 of them are situated in the corporate headquarter in Wolfsburg.

The eventful past of SEBN provided little breeding ground for a clear corporate identity and affected the attractiveness as an employer from an outside perspective. Problems in recruiting limited the entrepreneurial growth opportunities. The economically turbulent years of the car industry during the world economic crisis lead to a temporary end for corporate HR programs.

In order to find a new line for the whole organization the initiative “STRIVE” (STRategy, Identity, Values) has been established by the management and the HR department, conducted by the Promerit Management Consulting AG.

Objectives:

The objective of the project was to help SEBN realize the ambitious corporate strategy.

  • It was necessary to develop an independent and self-confident corporate identity. With an authentic Employer Brand the attractiveness of SEBN as an employer was to be increased noticeably.
  • Values and leadership principles had to be worked out selectively and established firmly in the “heads, hearts and hands” of managers and employees. This was meant to help to develop SEBN’s corporate culture actively and with a clear target.

The conception for a comprehensive HR management for SEBN had to be enhanced and implemented internationally with modern HR instruments. It was necessary to establish an international HR network functional for all SEBN sites.

Approach and Services of Promerit AG:

The objectives were pursued with three project parts linked to one another:

 ”Employer Branding”:

“How is SEBN perceived as an employer? Which authentic strengths does SEBN have? And what is SEBN’s position on the labour market compared to its competitors?” These were the main questions used to create the Employer Value Proposition (EVP) for SEBN – an authentic, differentiating and relevant employer’s promise. The EVP is the basis for strengthening the corporate identity as well as for all HR marketing and recruiting measures.

“Activating the Workforce”:

Based on the new profile of SEBN, internationally consistent and binding corporate values and leadership principles were created in several workshops with managers and employees. Together with the top management of SEBN the corporate strategy was conveyed with a focus on practical action. The STRIVE-results for identity (“Who are we?”), strategy (“Where do we want to go?”) and values (“How do we want to work together?”) are rolled out worldwide in a cascaded “dialogue tour” as well as in “team summit” workshops with the top management, managers and the HR management.

 ”International HR Management”:

The integration of the HR instruments forms the basis for a corporate synchronized HR management. Guided by Promerit consultants a SEBN competence model with internationally valid potential criteria as well as a corporate job architecture have been developed. The HR instruments recruiting, personnel development and potential management have been revised and developed further in the STRIVE context. At the moment, the IT system implementation is the copestone of the roll-out of the international HR organization at SEBN.

Selected project results and client benefit:

STRIVE – Strategy:

  • An understandably transmitted and guiding corporate strategy for SEBN is shared by managers and employees and is realized within their own context.

STRIVE – Identity:

  • A strengthened corporate identity and a strong Employer Brand for SEBN have an in- and outside effect. With a clear Employer Value Proposition (EVP) a creative concept for an international HR campaign has been developed and implemented.

STRIVE – Values:

  • Organization specific corporate values and binding leadership principles for SEBN strengthen the corporate culture.

 

Client benefit:

HR is accepted as partner of the top management in this development and roll-out process. The personnel management and Promerit have made a direct contribution to the entrepreneurial success of SEBN with this kind of change management: by ensuring the understandable transmission of the corporate strategy, providing the supply of suitable and qualified employees by means of an attractive Employer Brand as well as by activating managers and employees regarding corporate values and leadership principles.

other cases

Sumitomo Electric Bordnetze GmbH

HR Organisation, HR Strategie

HR als strategischer Partner zur Umsetzung der Unternehmensstrategie

  • Wenn über 24.000 Mitarbeiter weltweit auf eine ambitionierte, neue Unternehmensstrategie ausgerichtet werden müssen, wessen Aufgabe ist das?
  • Wenn eine Organisation nach verschiedenen Fusionen und Übernahmen nach einem gemeinsamen Fundament sucht, wer sorgt dafür, dass eine eigene Identität entsteht?
  • Wenn Führungsleitlinien und Werte noch nicht engagiert gelebt werden, wer stellt sicher, dass diesen auch Taten folgen?
  • Wenn man als Arbeitgeber nicht ausreichend bekannt ist, wer sorgt dafür, dass sich trotzdem exzellente Kandidaten finden?
Diese Fragen hat sich die Führung eines großen Automobilzulieferers in Deutschland gestellt. Das Resultat ist ein klares Bekenntnis zu seinem HR-Management.

Download
Sumitomo Factsheet

Ausgangssituation:

Die Sumitomo Electric Bordnetze GmbH (SEBN) ist ein Automobilzulieferunternehmen, das sich auf die Entwicklung und Produktion von Bordnetzen und elektronischen Komponenten für Fahrzeuge konzentriert. In der Vergangenheit als Joint Venture von Siemens und Volkswagen gegründet und in den Folgejahren durch unterschiedliche Zukäufe erweitert, wurde es 2006 von dem japanischen Mischkonzern Sumitomo übernommen. Derzeit arbeiten mehr als 24.000 Mitarbeiter in 14 Ländern und an 23 Standorten für SEBN, davon ca. 400 in der Unternehmenszentrale in Wolfsburg.

Die wechselhafte Vergangenheit von SEBN bildete wenig Nährboden für eine klare Unternehmensidentität und schmälerte die Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber nach außen. Probleme beim Recruiting begrenzten die unternehmerischen Wachstumsmöglichkeiten. Die ökonomisch turbulenten Jahre der Automobilindustrie während der Weltwirtschaftskrise führten dazu, dass konzernweite HR-Programme nicht fortgesetzt wurden.

Um die gesamte Organisation neu auszurichten, wurde von der Geschäftsführung und der Personalleitung die Initiative „STRIVE“ (STRategy, Identity, Values) unter Leitung der Promerit AG etabliert.

Ziele des Projekts:

Ziel des Projekts war es, SEBN in die Lage zu versetzen, die ehrgeizige Unternehmensstrategie umzusetzen.

  • Es galt, eine eigenständige, selbstbewusste Unternehmensidentität zu entwickeln. Mit Hilfe einer authentischen Arbeitgebermarke sollte die Arbeitgeberattraktivität von SEBN spürbar gesteigert werden.
  • Eigene Werte und Führungsleitlinien waren trennscharf zu erarbeiten und in den „Köpfen, Herzen und Händen“ der Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter handlungsleitend zu verankern. Die SEBN Unternehmenskultur sollte damit aktiv und zielgerichtet entwickelt werden.
  • Übergreifendes HR-Management war konzeptionell für SEBN weiterzuentwickeln und dann mit modernen HR-Instrumenten flächendeckend international umzusetzen. Es galt, ein internationales HR-Netzwerk über alle SEBN-Standorte hinweg funktionsfähig zu etablieren.

Vorgehensweise und Leistungen der Promerit AG:

Die Ziele wurden in drei verzahnten Arbeitssträngen verfolgt:

 „Employer Branding“:

„Wie wird SEBN als Arbeitgeber wahrgenommen? Welche authentischen Stärken hat SEBN? Und wie steht SEBN im Vergleich zum Wettbewerb auf dem Arbeitsmarkt?“ Das waren Leitfragen, aus denen die Employer Value Proposition (EVP) für SEBN – ein authentisches, differenzierendes und relevantes Arbeitgeberversprechen – formuliert wurde. Die EVP ist Grundlage sowohl für die Stärkung der Unternehmensidentität als auch für alle HR-Marketing- und Recruitingmaßnahmen.

„Activating the Workforce“:

Auf Basis des gewonnenen Profils von SEBN wurden in verschiedenen Workshops mit Führungskräften und Mitarbeitern international einheitliche und verbindliche Unternehmenswerte und Führungsleitlinien formuliert. Gemeinsam mit dem Top-Management von SEBN wurde die Unternehmensstrategie vertont und handlungsleitend übersetzt. Die STRIVE-Ergebnisse zu Identität („Wer sind wir?“), zu Strategie („Wo wollen wir hin?“) und zu Werten („Wie wollen wir zusammenarbeiten?“) werden in einer kaskadierten „Dialogtour“ sowie in „Team Summit“-Workshops von Geschäftsführung, Führungskräften und dem Personalmanagement weltweit ausgerollt.

 „Internationales HR Management“:

Die Integration der HR-Instrumente bildet die Grundlage für ein konzernweit synchronisiertes HR-Management. Geführt von Promerit Beratern wurde ein SEBN-Kompetenzmodell mit international gültigen Potenzialkriterien sowie eine unternehmensweite Jobarchitektur entwickelt. Die HR-Instrumente Recruiting, Personalentwicklung sowie Potenzialmanagement wurden im STRIVE Kontext überarbeitet und weiterentwickelt. Die IT-Systemimplementierung bildet momentan den Schlussstein des Rollouts der länderübergreifenden HR-Organisation bei SEBN.

Projektergebnisse und Kundennutzen:

STRIVE – Strategy:

  • Eine verständlich übersetzte und handlungsleitende Unternehmensstrategie für SEBN wird von Führungskräften und Mitarbeitern geteilt und in den eigenen Kontext gesetzt.

STRIVE – Identity:

  • Eine gestärkte Unternehmensidentität und eine starke Arbeitgebermarke für SEBN wirken nach innen und außen. Mit einer klaren Employer Value Proposition (EVP) wurde ein Kreativkonzept für eine internationale HR-Kampagne entwickelt und umgesetzt.

STRIVE – Values:

  • Organisationsspezifische Unternehmenswerte und verbindliche Führungsleitlinien für SEBN stärken die Unternehmenskultur.

HR ist in diesem Entstehungs- und Rolloutprozess akzeptierter Partner der Geschäftsführung. Das Personalmanagement und Promerit leisteten mit dieser Art des Change Managements einen unmittelbaren Beitrag zum unternehmerischen Erfolg von SEBN: um die verständliche Übersetzung der Unternehmensstrategie sicherzustellen, für Nachschub an geeigneten Fachkräften durch eine attraktive Arbeitgebermarke zu sorgen sowie die Führungsmannschaft und Belegschaft im Sinne der Unternehmenswerte und Führungsleitlinien zu aktivieren.

Weitere Cases