Puma

HR Strategy

Talent Management at PUMA AG

Since the 90s PUMA has written an extraordinary success story. Starting with 1.000 employees in 1993, the company has now grown to more than 11.000 employees worldwide. In 2006, e.g., more than 2.600 positions were newly created.

Following its mission “to be most desirable sports lifestyle company” PUMA, situated in Herzogenaurach, has grown from a manufacturer of sporting goods to an international company.

HR had to match up to this change. It was necessary to turn the HR organization, which was characterized by its medium-sized business structure and, therefore aimed at an administrative HR organization, into a powerful unit. This unit needed to be able to support the fast growth as well as the international success by offering modern HR instruments.

Talent management is the core of the HR strategy, which was developed in cooperation with Promerit.

It contains a rigid evaluation and development of employees, an accurate succession management as well as a consistent alignment with key positions and critical talents. This is not only done isolated in separate locations, it is also carried out globally.

Download
Puma Factsheet

Approach:

Promerit supported PUMA during all project phases, beginning with the strategy definition and ending with implementation:

Phase “Strategy”: The restructuring of HR started with the definition of the HR strategy, which was derived from the business strategy. In a next step the main HR instruments and their requirements were defined, the HR organization was revised and a worldwide consistent framework was developed which defined central and local responsibilities.

Phase “Planning”: Definition of a Competency Model:
During the next phase existing positions were combined to job families and requirements connected to each job family were defined systematically. These were used later on to compare them to the existing competencies of each position incumbent, who were evaluated during special assessments.

As a basis, an overall competency model for PUMA was developed. The necessary framework of competencies and operationalisations was derived from PUMA’s specific strategic requirements. The identification of potential as well as development measures aimed at enhancing employees’ strengths and closing qualification gaps is done based on this framework

Furthermore, the company’s key positions were identified. Independent of hierarchy level and function all positions relevant for the company’s success were analysed. Together with potential, this information is necessary for succession management.

Process and System – To ensure a standardized global transition into a controlled Talent Management operation, all relevant processes were transferred into a yearly management cycle and represented electronically.

Instead of implementing isolated talent management modules, a talent management system, which could also be used in an international surrounding, was defined.

This system can be enhanced by adding single modules, which combine the main talent management instruments in an adaptive way:

  • Objective setting and performance appraisal
  • Competency management and – assessment
  • Talent identification
  • Development planning and retention risk
  • Identification of key positions
  • Succession management and
  • Electronic CV

All processes were defined conceptually during the project and realized as “people@puma” using Stepstone ETWeb. In a first step a German pilot was carried out involving international units.

The following international roll-out was done step-by-step beginning with the US, UK and eventually Hong Kong.

Services of Promerit AG:

Promerit provided the following services to support the project:

  • Strategy development and the definition of a long-term talent management roadmap
  • Definition of detailed business processes for objective setting, performance and competency assessments
  • Identification of key positions and development of a competency model
  • Support in software evaluation
  • Support in realizing the processes in ETWeb
  • Design of further, enhancing instruments like talent pool, management round tables and board conferences
  • Definition of conceptual fundamentals and cross topics like job architecture and reporting
  • Change management and communication
  • Roll-out strategy

Client benefits:

PUMA did not only aim at representing existing processes in software. Actually, implementing a system was the starting point for creating global standards using common talent management processes and for defining them initially.

By introducing this important instrument, PUMA laid the cornerstone for integrated talent management instruments. Today, based on the HR roadmap derived from the HR strategy the bordering processes are gradually being defined and carried into the organization. From managing potential over succession management up to recruiting, all processes are being integrated into the talent management instrument successively.

By offering extensive expertise on talent management, Promerit was the ideal partner for PUMA from the beginning. They offered valuable support during all phases and in all questions connected to talent management: starting with defining the strategy to selecting the system as well as its implementation up to the definition of bordering instruments.

This holistic support guarantees that the separate modules fit together conceptually and technically – worldwide integrated talent management.

other cases

Puma

HR Organisation, HR Strategie

Talent Management bei der PUMA AG

Seit Beginn der 90er Jahre hat PUMA eine außerordentliche Erfolgsgeschichte geschrieben. Von 1.000 Mitarbeitern im Jahre 1993 ist der Konzern bis heute auf über 11.000 Mitarbeiter weltweit gewachsen. Über 2.600 neue Stellen wurden allein im Jahre 2006 neu geschaffen.

Dabei hat sich PUMA vom Sportartikelhersteller aus dem beschaulichen Herzogenaurach mit der Mission “to be the most desirable sports lifestyle company“ zum internationalen Konzern gewandelt.

Dieser Veränderung musste im Personalwesen Rechnung getragen werden. Es galt, die mittelständisch geprägte und auf Administration ausgerichtete Personalorganisation in eine schlagkräftige Einheit zu verwandeln, die mit modernen Personalinstrumenten das rasante Wachstum und den internationalen Erfolg der Marke unterstützt.

Den Kern der gemeinsam mit Promerit entwickelten HR-Strategie bildet das Talent Management.

Das heißt die rigide Beurteilung und Entwicklung der Mitarbeiter, die akkurate Planung des Nachfolgemanagements sowie die konsequente Ausrichtung auf Schlüsselpositionen und kritische Talente – nicht nur isoliert an einzelnen Standorten, sondern global.

Download
Puma Factsheet

Vorgehensweise:

Promerit unterstützte die PUMA AG in allen Phasen des Projektes von der Strategieentwicklung bis hin zur Umsetzung:

Strategie-Phase: Zu Beginn der Neuausrichtung des Personalwesens wurde die HR-Strategie aus der Geschäftsstrategie abgeleitet und definiert. Auf dieser Basis wurden die zentralen Personalinstrumente und Anforderungen daran bestimmt, die HR-Organisation überarbeitet und ein weltweit übereinstimmender Handlungsrahmen geschaffen, der zentrale und dezentrale Verantwortlichkeiten ausbalanciert.

Planungsphase: Entwicklung eines Kompetenzmodells:
In der nächsten Phase wurden die vorhandenen Positionen zu Jobfamilien zusammengefasst. Anforderungen an jede Jobfamilie wurden systematisch erhoben, um sie später mit den über Assessments erhobenen Kompetenzen der Positionsinhaber abzugleichen.

Hierzu wurde ein übergreifendes Kompetenzmodell für den PUMA-Konzern entwickelt. Abgeleitet aus den spezifischen, strategischen Anforderungen von PUMA wurde der dazu nötige Rahmen von Kompetenzen und Operationalisierungen definiert. Diese Vorarbeit bildet die Grundlage für die Potenzialidentifikation und Entwicklungsmaßnahmen, mit denen Stärken der Mitarbeiter gefördert und Qualifizierungslücken geschlossen werden.

Darüber hinaus wurden Schlüsselpositionen im Unternehmen identifiziert. Unabhängig von Hierarchie und Funktion wurden die für den Unternehmenserfolg kritischen Positionen analysiert. Gepaart mit dem Potenzial, liefern diese Informationen Input für die zwingend erforderliche Nachfolgeplanung.

Prozess und System – Um die globale Umsetzung dieser Ansätze in einen Talent Management-Regelbetrieb global einheitlich zu gewährleisten, wurden die zuführenden Prozesse in einen jährlichen Führungszyklus überführt und elektronisch abgebildet.

Dabei wurden nicht nur isolierte Einzelbausteine aus dem Talent Management implementiert:

Vielmehr wurde ein modular erweiterbares Talent Management-System für den internationalen Einsatz im Konzern konzipiert, das adaptiv die zentralen Instrumente des Talent Management zusammenführt:

  • Zielvereinbarung und Leistungsbeurteilung
  • Kompetenzmanagement  und -beurteilung
  • Talent-Identifikation
  • Entwicklungsplanung und Abwanderungsrisiko
  • Identifikation von Schlüsselpositionen
  • Nachfolgeplanung und
  • Elektronischer Lebenslauf

Die Prozesse wurden im Rahmen des Projektes konzeptionell ausgestaltet und unter dem Namen people@puma auf Basis von Stepstone ETWeb abgebildet. Dabei wurde unter Einbeziehung internationaler Einheiten zunächst ein deutscher Pilot durchgeführt.

Der Rollout in den internationalen Gesellschaften folgte – beginnend mit USA, UK und schließlich Hongkong – Schritt für Schritt.

Leistungen der Promerit AG:

Die Promerit AG unterstützte das Projekt ganzheitlich von der Strategie bis zur Umsetzung mit folgenden Leistungen:

  • Strategie-Entwicklung und Ausformulierung einer langfristigen Talent Management Roadmap
  • Fachliche Gestaltung der Detailprozesse zur Zielvereinbarung und Leistungs- und Kompetenzbewertung
  • Identifikation von Schlüsselpositionen und Entwicklung eines Kompetenzmodells
  • Begleitung des Software-Auswahlprozesses
  • Unterstützung der Umsetzung in Stepstone ETWeb
  • Design von weiterführenden Instrumenten wie Talent Pool, Management Round Tables und Board Conferences
  • Konzeptionelle Entwicklung von Grundlagen- und Querschnittsthemen wie Job-Architektur und Reporting
  • Change Management und Kommunikation
  • Einführungsstrategie

Kundennutzen:

Ziel dieses Projektes für die PUMA AG war nicht nur bereits bestehende Prozesse in eine Software zu überführen. Vielmehr war die Einführung des Systems der Anlass, mit einheitlichen Talent Management-Prozessen globale Standards zu schaffen und diese stellenweise auch initial zu definieren.

Mit diesem wichtigen Instrument hat PUMA den Grundstein für ein durchgängiges Talent Management-Instrumentarium gelegt. Im Rahmen der aus der HR-Strategie abgeleiteten Roadmap werden heute sukzessive die angrenzenden Prozesse ausformuliert und in die Organisation getragen. Vom Potenzialmanagement über die Nachfolgeplanung bis zu den Personalgewinnungsprozessen werden sukzessive alle Prozesse schrittweise in das Talent Management-Instrumentarium integriert.

Durch die umfassende Expertise im Feld des Talent Management war Promerit von Anfang an der Partner für die PUMA AG – in allen Phasen und Fragestellungen des Talent Managements: Von der Strategieformulierung über die Systemauswahl und Umsetzung bis hin zur Begleitung bei der Entwicklung angrenzender Instrumente stand das Promerit-Team dem PUMA-Team partnerschaftlich mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Durch diese ganzheitliche Begleitung wird sichergestellt, dass alle Einzelbausteine konzeptionell und technisch nahtlos ineinandergreifen – integriertes Talent Management weltweit.

Weitere Cases