Melitta

HR Strategy

More possibilities – Employer Branding at Melitta

Initial situation:

Melitta was founded in 1908 and is a group of companies with about 3,670 employees based in Minden in East Westphalia. They produce and market products for daily use in private households, gastronomy and other bulk users. The main markets for this international, family-owned group are Europe, North and South America as well as Asia.

Most consumers associate Melitta with coffee. The fact that the company also offers branded products such as Toppits and Swirl, holds more than 1,000 patents and operates internationally is largely unknown. This complex and for job applicants hardly-visible brand image was further complicated by the fact that the company was unaware of its true strengths and weaknesses as an employer and of their relevance for the target groups. Personnel Marketing statements were therefore limited to general statements such as “good opportunities for self-development” or “appropriate remuneration” and reference to the brand tradition – without explaining the resulting advantages for Melitta as an employer. No clear statement was made in the form of an overall concept or answer to the question: “What makes Melitta special as an employer worldwide in comparison with competitors?”

For the above reasons, the directors and personnel management initiated an international Employer Branding project under the leadership of Promerit Management Consulting AG.

Download
Melitta Factsheet

Objectives:

The aim was to develop an overall employer positioning, valid for all brands and countries:

  • An authentic employer positioning which effectively increases the attractiveness of the employer for the relevant target groups
  • To create internal awareness of the strengths of the employer in order to strengthen the bond with the company and retain motivated and talented employees with good training
  • Clear and effective communication of the attractiveness of the employer to improve the external profile of the company in the employee market

Approach and Services of Promerit AG:

The objectives were implemented in four consecutive and inter-related project phases:

Initiation

Setting out the relevant objectives and target groups for the project and initial discussion of the cultural and economic differences among the countries. During selection of the project team care was taken to ensure that the individual countries were represented and that a good balance of personnel, communications and business expertise was assured.

 Analysis

Determination of the strengths and weaknesses of Melitta as an employer as well as the preferences of the target group from various points of view by qualitative and quantitative methods of analysis.

Conception

Formulation and communication of an overall Employer Value Proposition (EVP), based on the actual employer characteristics and the preferences of the target groups, by means of examples and reference to the findings of the analysis phase. Creation of a complete documentation (Brand Book) which becomes the basis for all communication and interaction with job applicants.

Implementation

Creation of a communication concept for internal and external publication of the positioning and supervision of the creative implementation with the agency.

Selected project results:

The project created the basis for the optimum positioning of Melitta as an employer:

  • Definition of an overall EVP (HR umbrella brand), despite the complexity of brands, target groups, countries and markets
  • Identification of potential for improvement and assurance that the attractiveness of the employer is actively put into practice
  • A new employer profile with clearly-defined and targeted messages
  • A structure of internal communications that encourages employees to become actively involved with Melitta and the specific characteristics of the company.

Client benefit:

The newly-developed positioning gives Melitta an authentic and well-defined external and internal corporate image with particular reference to important target groups. This assures that any investment in communication is made in a targeted and effective way.

other cases

Melitta

HR Organisation, HR Strategie

„Das Mehr an Möglichkeiten“ – Employer Branding bei Melitta

Ausgangssituation:

Melitta wurde 1908 gegründet und ist eine im ostwestfälischen Minden ansässige Unternehmensgruppe mit rund 3.670 Mitarbeitern. Unter ihrem Dach werden Artikel für den täglichen Haushaltsbedarf sowie für Gastronomie und Großverbraucher produziert und vermarktet. Hauptmärkte des international tätigen Familienunternehmens sind Europa, Nord- und Südamerika sowie Asien.

Wer Melitta hört, denkt an Kaffee. Dass das Unternehmen Marken wie Toppits oder Swirl im Portfolio hat, über 1000 Patente besitzt und international aufgestellt ist, weiß so gut wie niemand. Dieses aus Markensicht komplexe und für Bewerber nur schwer durchschaubare Außenbild wurde dadurch verstärkt, dass dem Unternehmen gar nicht bewusst war, wo tatsächliche Stärken und Schwächen als Arbeitgeber liegen und für welche Zielgruppen diese wiederum relevant sind. Das Personalmarketing beschränkte sich dementsprechend nur auf Allgemeinplätze, wie „gute Weiterentwicklungsmöglichkeiten“ oder „leistungsgerechte Bezahlung“ bzw. Reminiszenzen zur Tradition der Marke – ohne konkrete Bezüge zu den Vorteilen als Arbeitgeber. Was fehlte, war eine klare Positionierung im Sinne einer übergreifenden Klammer – eine Antwort auf die Frage: „Was macht Melitta als Arbeitgeber weltweit besonders im Vergleich zum jeweiligen Wettbewerb?“

Daher wurde von der Geschäftsführung und der Personalleitung ein internationales Employer Branding Projekt unter Leitung der Promerit Management Consulting AG ins Leben gerufen.

Download
Melitta Factsheet

Ziele des Projekts:

Ziel war die Entwicklung einer übergreifenden Arbeitgeberpositionierung, die für alle Marken und Länder Gültigkeit hat:

  • Eine authentische Arbeitgeberpositionierung, die die Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber spürbar für die relevanten Zielgruppen erhöht
  • Das interne Bewusstsein für die eigenen Arbeitgeberstärken schaffen, um motivierte, talentierte und gut ausgebildete Mitarbeiter besser im Unternehmen zu halten
  • Eine klare und wirkungsvolle Kommunikation der Arbeitgeberattraktivität, die maßgeblich die externe Positionierung am Arbeitsmarkt verbessert

Vorgehensweise und Leistungen der Promerit AG:

Die Ziele wurden in vier aufeinander aufbauenden Projektschritten verfolgt:

Initialisierung

Festlegung der für das Projekt relevanten Ziele und Zielgruppen sowie erste Diskussion kultureller und wirtschaftlicher Unterschiede der Länder. In der Zusammenstellung des Projektteams wurde darauf geachtet, dass einerseits die einzelnen Länder vertreten waren und andererseits eine gute Mischung aus Personal-, Kommunikations- und Business-Know-how vorhanden war.

 Analyse

Sammlung der Stärken und Schwächen von Melitta als Arbeitgeber sowie der Präferenzen der Zielgruppe aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln durch qualitative und quantitative Analysemethoden.

Konzeption

Formulierung einer übergreifenden Employer Value Proposition (EVP), die mit den tatsächlich vorhandenen Arbeitgebereigenschaften und den Präferenzen der Zielgruppen abgeglichen und mit Zitaten und Beispielen aus der Analysephase greifbar gemacht wurde. Erstellung einer ausführlichen Dokumentation (Brandbook), die die Basis für alle Maßnahmen der Kommunikation und Interaktion mit den Bewerbern darstellt.

Umsetzung

Erarbeitung eines Kommunikationskonzepts zur Bekanntmachung der Positionierung nach innen und nach außen und Schulterblick bei der Kreativumsetzung mit der Agentur.

Ausgewählte Projektergebnisse und Kundennutzen:

Mit dem Projekt wurde die Grundlage für eine optimale Positionierung von Melitta als Arbeitgeber geschaffen:

  • Definition einer übergreifenden EVP (HR-Dachmarke), trotz der Komplexität von Marken, Zielgruppen, Ländern und Märkten
  • Identifikation von Optimierungspotenzialen und damit Sicherstellung, dass die Arbeitgeberattraktivität auch substanziell angegangen wird
  • Neuer Arbeitgeberauftritt mit trennscharfen und zielgruppengerechten Botschaften
  • Interne Kommunikationsformate, die die Mitarbeiter motivieren, sich aktiv mit Melitta und den Besonderheiten des Unternehmens auseinanderzusetzen

Mit der entwickelten Positionierung kann Melitta nach innen und nach außen authentisch, trennscharf und mit besonderem Blick für die erfolgskritischen Zielgruppen auftreten. Dadurch ist sichergestellt, dass Investitionen in die Kommunikation zielgenau und ohne Streuverluste wirken können.

Weitere Cases