Manor AG

HR Organisation, HR Strategy

Manor on the move – How HR contributes towards implementing corporate strategies

How can I provide the right HR services to respond to current and future business challenges?

The objective of the project “HR on the move” at Manor is to translate business challenges into core requirements regarding HR´s work. To increase the strategic impact, this has to change considerably in the future. A core aspect in connection with this is devising new services and focusing on HR issues relevant in the future, which contributes to implementing corporate strategies. This in turn forms the new structure of the HR organisation. Precisely in this order and thus effective for Manor.

Download
Manor AG Factsheet

Initial Situation:

Retail used to be easier

Manor AG, a subsidiary of the Maus Frères Group with its head office in Basel, is Switzerland´s leading department store group. A work force of more than 11.000 in roughly 100 professions operates in 75 department stores. This line of business is currently undergoing severe change. Many external aspects like skills shortage, increasing online trade accompanied by new competitors and changing customer requirements impact the business and prompt Manor to reposition itself entirely to succeed in the future. HR plays a vital role in this change process.

However, so far HR’s work at Manor is marked by a rather traditional approach, focusing on consulting managers and support issues in a classic way. Thus, HR had little strategic relevance, fell short of its capabilities and was neither organised in an effective nor efficient way.

Objectives:

The objective of the project was to successfully implement strategies by HR Management

  • Purposefully aligning HR services with future business requirements and five strategic core issues
  • Moving from traditional HR work towards a proactive, customer-oriented business model
  • Allocating resources sensibly according to HR processes
  • Empowering HR and line during the implementation phase
  • Gradually implementing the new business model and service portfolio starting with Talent Management

Approach and Services of Promerit AG:

Promerit AG supports the project by means of following services:

  • Finalising the HR strategy based on the corporate strategy
  • Analysing HR’s work at Manor with regard to essential performance prerequisites like contribution to strategy, content, processes, organisation, capacity, HR qualifications based on interviews with HR business partners and experts as well as a functional analysis
  • Deducing a new service portfolio based on best practices and Manor’s cultural requirements as well as respective services pertaining to the relevant performance prerequisites
  • Devising the new business model as well as a three-year roadmap on how to gradually implement it
  • Empowerment concept for HR staff as well as line executives to implement the new service portfolio
  • Consistent stakeholder management throughout the entire project
  • Deducing an HR IT strategy and implementing the new Talent Management based on haufe umantis
  • Gradually implementing the respective services starting with the new Talent Management (incl. a pilot phase and accompanying the roll out from a specialist and technical point of view)

Client Benefit:

In cooperation with Promerit, Manor will devise a sustainable HR service portfolio focusing on strategic core issues and adapted to the annual strategy process. Based on an efficient, customer-oriented business model, services will be implemented gradually. Thus, HR’s future efforts at Manor will contribute considerably to implementing the corporate strategy.

other cases

Manor AG

HR Organisation, HR Strategie

Manor on the move – Wie HR zur Umsetzung der Unternehmensstrategie beiträgt

Wie liefere ich die richtigen HR Dienstleistungen, die Antworten auf heutige und künftige Business-Herausforderungen geben?

Das Projekt HR on the move bei Manor übersetzt die Business Herausforderungen in die Kernanforderungen an die HR Arbeit. Für den strategischen Impact muss sich diese künftig maßgeblich verändern.

Das Aufsetzen neuer Dienstleistungen und Fokussierung auf künftig relevante HR Themen, die einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Unternehmensstrategie liefern, ist der Kern. Abgeleitet daraus entsteht die neue Struktur der HR Organisation. Exakt in dieser Reihenfolge und damit wirksam für Manor.

Download
Manor AG Factsheet

Ausgangssituation:

Es war schon mal einfacher im Retail

Die Manor AG, eine Tochtergesellschaft der Maus Frères Gruppe mit Hauptsitz in Basel, ist die führende Warenhausgruppe der Schweiz. In 75 Warenhäusern arbeiten mehr als 11.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter in rund 100 Berufen. Die Branche befindet sich derzeit massiv im Wandel. Viele externe Faktoren wie bspw. Fachkräftemangel, zunehmender Onlinehandel und damit einhergehende neue Wettbewerber und veränderte Kundenanforderungen, beeinflussen das Geschäft und führen dazu, dass Manor sich insgesamt neu aufstellen muss, um künftig erfolgreich zu sein. HR übernimmt bei diesem Veränderungsprozess eine zentrale Rolle.

Bisher allerdings zeichnete sich die HR Arbeit bei Manor durch eine eher traditionell ausgerichtete Arbeit mit Fokus auf klassische Beratung der Führungskräfte und Supporthemen aus. Dadurch hatte sie nur wenig strategische Relevanz, blieb unter ihren Leistungsmöglichkeiten und war weder effektiv noch effizient organisiert.

Ziele des Projekts:

Erfolgreiche Strategieumsetzung durch das HR Management

  • Gezielte Ausrichtung der HR Dienstleistungen auf künftige Business-Anforderungen und fünf strategische Kernthemen
  • Von der traditionellen HR Arbeit hin zu einem proaktiven, kundenorientierten Geschäftsmodell
  • Sinnvolle Verteilung der Ressourcen entlang von HR Prozessen
  • Befähigung von HR und Linie in der Umsetzung
  • Schrittweise Umsetzung des neuen Geschäftsmodells und des Dienstleistungsportfolios beginnend mit Talent Management

Vorgehensweise und Leistungen der Promerit AG:

Die Promerit AG unterstützte das Projekt durch folgende Leistungen:

  • Finalisierung der HR Strategie auf Basis der Unternehmensstrategie
  • Analyse der HR Arbeit bei Manor im Hinblick auf wesentliche Leistungsvoraussetzungen wie Strategiebeitrag, Inhalte, Prozesse, Organisation, Kapazitäten sowie HR Qualifikationen anhand von Interviews mit HR Business Partnern und Experten sowie einer Funktionsanalyse
  • Ableitung des neuen Dienstleistungsportfolios auf Basis von Best Practices und kulturrelevanten Anforderungen bei Manor sowie Ausgestaltung der jeweiligen Dienstleitungen im Hinblick auf die wesentlichen Leistungsvoraussetzungen
  • Konzeption des neuen Geschäftsmodells sowie einer 3-Jahres-Roadmap zur schrittweisen Umsetzung
  • Befähigungskonzept für HR-Mitarbeiter sowie Führungskräfte der Linie zur Umsetzung des neuen Dienstleistungsportfolios
  • Konsequentes Stakeholder Management während des gesamten Projekts
  • Ableitung der HR-IT Strategie und Implementierung des neuen Talent Management auf Basis von haufe umantis
  • Schrittweise Umsetzung der jeweiligen Dienstleistungen beginnend mit dem neuen Talent Management (inkl. Durchführung eines Piloten und Begleitung des Roll-out fachlich und technisch)

Kundennutzen:

Gemeinsam mit Promerit gestaltete Manor ein zukunftsfähiges HR Dienstleistungsportfolio, welches auf die strategischen Kernthemen fokussiert und im jährlichen Strategieprozess angepasst wird. Mit einem leistungsfähigen, kundenorientierten Geschäftsmodell werden die Dienstleistungen schrittweise wirksam umgesetzt. Somit leistet die künftige HR Arbeit bei Manor einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Unternehmensstrategie.

Weitere Cases