ABB

Talent Management

Initial Situation:

ABB is a leading group worldwide in energy and automation technology and currently employs 140,000 people in 100 countries. The company develops, produces and delivers products, systems and solutions that are deployed in the generation, transportation and distribution of electrical power. Beyond this, ABB supports its customers in improving their production processes by means of industrial robots and intelligent control systems. The claim and mission of ABB are derived from both of these key activities: ‘power and productivity for a better world’.

In 2011 ABB was faced with the challenge of realigning its global HR system and related ongoing global processes in order to achieve its corporate and HR strategy objectives. At that time it was difficult to upscale the HR system in line with historical and planned growth in new national markets, business areas and business units. The quality of the core data and available functionalities did not correspond with the demands of a global corporation – neither for process implementation nor for HR reporting procedures. There was only limited user-satisfaction with the processes in the global system. Even the governance and support structures were unstable. Improvements were often implemented on a ticket-driven basis and only addressed the view of individual countries or ‘silo’ processes – but were not geared towards achieving a common objective or even meeting the requirements of end-users in operative business.

Download
ABB Factsheet

Objectives

In order to approach the various different challenges, ABB defined a portfolio of measures in line with the following objectives:

  • Stabilisation of the technical platform and data quality
  • Specialist and technical optimisation and extension of global processes and the way they are displayed in the system, to ensure that they meet world-class requirements
  • Increasing the business benefit (in terms of business criticality and business impact)

Approach and Services of Promerit AG:

To enable a unified approach to the formulated objectives, ABB and Promerit first developed a joint roadmap based on an analysis of the current situation and a target definition. This was followed by the drafting, implementation and roll-out of improvements in waves, in several partially overlapping projects:

  • Defining the objective and the HR IT roadmap: ‘checking the pulse’ of the existing processes and System configuration; identifying optimisation and action requirements and transferring this into a coordinated objective with HR and Business; working out an HR IT roadmap that takes all functional, technical and resource-related aspects into account.
  • Optimising the recruitment process: upgrading the SAP e-recruiting system; cleaning up application data; leveraging areas of specialist potential; preparation of the roll-out in key countries and stabilisation of the worldwide user community
  • Optimising performance management and succession planning: introducing SAP TMC, traceable succession planning to the SAP standard and technical extension to integrate Promerit templates.
  • Supporting the ‘global mobility’ process for international secondment: developing and implementing a dedicated application for international secondment based on the existing SAP infrastructure.   
  • Introducing an integrated talent profile: developing and implementing a consistent talent profile across all talent processes and platforms (SAP e-recruiting / SAP TMC); integrating this profile with LinkedIn. Defining role-dependent profile views.
  • Realigning talent pools and job architecture; developing a reporting framework and support in the area of global master data: developing systems and processes for talent pools; adjusting the job architecture; defining a framework for HR reporting; providing consultation for optimising the interplay between global and local HR systems, including the definition of the global HR core data and the way it is ‘consumed’ by the talent processes.
  • Project and programme management: defining the programme architecture and the project management office; defining and supervising programme planning. Managing objective achievement, scheduling expectations and resources. Guidance of steering committees and milestone gate approvals

Project results and client benefit:

Out of this cooperation over more than three years, ABB has realised the following benefits:

  • A verifiable increase in user acceptance, as measured by quarterly user-satisfaction surveys.
  • An increase in data quality across both talent processes and reporting processes – in particular through establishing an integrated talent profile and linking this to the performance/target-agreement process.
  • An improvement in quality / reduced susceptibility to errors in process execution and systems.
  • Stabilisation of programme and project-management standards.
  • Stabilisation of governance and support structures .
  • Improved selection of internal and external candidates.
  • Higher global transparency regarding talents in the group.
  • An initial breakdown of individual ‘silo’ processes to the benefit of an integrated talent-management system.

As confirmed by Gary Steel, Head of Group Human Resources, commenting on global talent management at ABB:

other cases

ABB

Talent Management

Ausgangssituation:

ABB ist ein weltweit führender Konzern der Energie- und Automatisierungstechnik und beschäftigt derzeit rund 140.000 Mitarbeiter in 100 Ländern. Das Unternehmen entwickelt, fertigt und liefert Produkte, Systeme und Lösungen, die in der Erzeugung, dem Transport und der Verteilung von Strom zum Einsatz kommen. Darüber hinaus hilft ABB seinen Kunden ihre Fertigungsabläufe über Roboter und intelligente Steuersysteme zu verbessern. Aus beiden Tätigkeitsschwerpunkten heraus ergibt sich der Anspruch und die Mission von ABB: „power and productivity for a better world“.

2011 steht ABB vor der Herausforderung das globale HR-System und die hierauf laufenden globalen Prozesse anzupassen, um die Ziele aus Unternehmens- und HR-Strategie zu erreichen. Das System skaliert zu diesem Zeitpunkt schlecht mit dem vergangenen und auch dem geplanten Wachstum in neue Länder, Geschäftsfelder und -einheiten. Die Qualität der Stammdaten und die bereitgestellten Funktionalitäten entsprechen nicht den Anforderungen eines globalen Konzerns – sowohl für die Prozessdurchführung als auch für das HR-Reporting. Die Anwenderzufriedenheit mit den Prozessen im globalen System ist gering. Auch die Governance- und Support-Strukturen laufen nicht stabil. Optimierungen werden oft ticket-getrieben umgesetzt und zahlen nur auf die Sicht einzelner Länder oder „Silo-Prozesse“ ein, aber nicht auf ein gemeinsames Ziel oder gar auf die Anforderungen der Endanwender im Business.

Download
ABB Factsheet

Ziele:

Um die vielfältigen Herausforderungen anzugehen, definiert ABB ein Portfolio an Maßnahmen entlang der folgenden Ziele:

  • Stabilisieren der technischen Plattform und der Datenqualität
  • Fachliches und technisches Optimieren und Erweiterung der globalen Prozesse und ihrer Abbildung im System in Richtung eines „worldclass“ Anspruchs
  • Steigern des Geschäftsnutzens (“Business Criticality & Business Impact”)

Vorgehensweise und Leistungen:

Um die formulierten Ziele gemeinsam anzugehen, erarbeiten ABB und Promerit zunächst eine gemeinsame Roadmap, die auf einer Ist-Analyse und Zielbild-Definition basiert. Danach erfolgen Konzeption, Umsetzung und Roll-Out der Optimierungen in mehreren, teilweise überlappenden Projekten („Waves“):

  • Definition von Zielbild & HR-IT-Roadmap: „Pulse-Check“ für die bestehenden Prozesse und die Systemkonfiguration, Aufzeigen der Optimierungs-/Handlungsbedarfe und Überführen in ein mit HR und Business abgestimmtes Zielbild, Erarbeiten einer HR-IT Roadmap unter Berücksichtigung von fachlichen, technischen und Ressourcen-Gesichtspunkten.
  • Optimieren des Recruiting-Prozesses: Upgrade des SAP E-Recruiting Systems, Bereinigen von Anwendungsdaten, Heben von fachlichen Potenzialen, Vorbereiten des Rollouts in Schlüsselländern, Stabilisieren der weltweiten Anwender-Community.
  • Optimieren von Performance Management und Nachfolgeplanung: Einführen von SAP TMC, Zurückführen der Nachfolgeplanung auf den SAP-Standard und fachliche Erweiterung um Promerit-Templates.
  • Unterstützen des Prozesses für internationale Entsendungen („Global Mobility“):Konzeption und Umsetzung einer eigenen Anwendung für internationale Entsendungen auf Basis der bestehenden SAP-Infrastruktur.   
  • Einführen des integrierten Talent Profils: Konzeption und Umsetzung eines einheitlichen Talent-Profils über alle Talent-Prozesse und -Plattformen (SAP E-Recruiting / SAP TMC) hinweg. Integration dieses Profils mit LinkedIn. Definition von rollenabhängigen Sichten auf das Profil.
  • Neuausrichten von Talent Pools und Job-Architektur, Erarbeiten eines Reporting-Frameworks und Unterstützung im Bereich Global Master Data: Erarbeiten von Konzepten und Prozessen für Talent Pools, Anpassen der Job-Architektur, Definition eines Rahmens für das HR-Reporting, Konzeptberatung für die Optimierung des Zusammenspiels zwischen globalem und lokalen HR-Systemen einschl. der Definition der globalen HR-Stammdaten und ihres „Konsums“ durch die Talent-Prozesse.
  • Projekt- und Programm-Management: Definition der Programm-Architektur und des Project Management Office, Definition und Überwachen der Programm-Planung. Steuerung von Zielerreichung, zeitlichen Erwartungen und Ressourcen. Begleiten von Lenkungsausschüssen und der Abnahme von Meilensteinen („Gate-Approvals“).

Projektergebnisse und Kundennutzen:

Im Rahmen der mehr als dreijährigen Zusammenarbeit hat ABB folgenden Nutzen realisiert:

  • Nachweisliche Steigerung der Anwenderakzeptanz – gemessen über die quartalsweisen User Satisfaction Surveys.
  • Steigerung der Datenqualität über Talent-Prozesse und Reporting hinweg – insbes. über das Etablieren des integrierten Talent Profils und seine Kopplung an den Performance-/Zielvereinbarungs-Prozess.
  • Qualitätsverbesserung / Reduzierte Fehleranfälligkeit von Prozessausführung und System.
  • Stabilisierung von Programm- & Projekt-Management-Standards.
  • Stabilisierung von Governance- und Support-Strukturen.
  • Verbesserte Auswahl von internen und externen Kandidaten.
  • Höhere globale Transparenz über die Talente im Konzern.
  • Erstes Aufbrechen der einzelnen „Silo-Prozesse“ in Richtung eines integrierten Talent Managements.

Und das sagt Gary Steel, Head of Group Human Resources, zum globalen Talent Management bei ABB.

Weitere Cases